Fire Safety Grants benefit 4 southern IL counties

Updated: Jul. 19, 2018 at 3:58 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

BENTON, IL (KFVS) - According to Illinois State Representative Dave Severin (R-Benton), four communities will receive small firefighting and ambulance service equipment grants as part of the Small Equipment Grant Program.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

In Franklin County, both Valier Fire Department and Ziegler Fire Department will each receive $26,000. McLeansboro Fire Department in Hamilton County will receive $25,988.43 and the Carterville Fire Department in Williamson County will be awarded $25,824.76.

"These grants are vital for our more rural areas in Illinois to be able to provide life-saving services to our residents and visitors alike," commented Rep. Dave Severin. "I encourage other fire protection districts and ambulance services to apply for these grants every year to keep equipment up-to-date and help protect those who protect us."

One hundred fire departments and nonprofit ambulance services across the state received grants totaling $2.2 million, with each recipient receiving up to $26,000.

"This year we had over 400 fire departments from across the state apply for a grant," State Fire Marshal Matt Perez said. "The requests for grants totaled over $9 million. We had $2.2 million in funds to award and we ensured that the neediest stations across the state received the money to ensure the safety of the men and women that protect their cities. It is imperative that we continue to find ways to aid the men and women that respond first in a disaster and always put the lives of others before their own."

All fire department, fire protection district and township fire department applicants were required to have participated in the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) for a minimum of two years prior to applying.

Copyright 2018 KFVS. All rights reserved.