IL Senators introduce safe water drinking bill

Carbondale officials want to assure the public that the water turbidity levels are back to...
Carbondale officials want to assure the public that the water turbidity levels are back to normal (Source: Pixabay)
Updated: Jul. 11, 2018 at 8:55 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

WASHINGTON, D.C. (KFVS) - Illinois U.S. Senators Tammy Duckworth and Dick Durbin, along with ten other colleagues reintroduced the Contaminant and Lead Electronic Accounting and Reporting Requirements (CLEARR) for Drinking Water Act this week on Capitol Hill.

The bill would authorize more than $1 billion in federal funding to help small and disadvantaged communities replace contaminated water infrastructure to comply with the Safe Drinking Water Act.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

The legislation would also direct the Environmental Protection Agency to require electronic reporting of water quality testing results, update requirements for repeat or serious offender water systems, and create a system so that customers can request in-home water quality tests from the EPA and receive the test results quickly.

"The reality is that contaminated water is a public health crisis in communities across the nation and no state is immune," Duckworth said. "The CLEARR Act is an important bill that can help solve this crisis and ensure every family in America - no matter where they live - has access to clean and safe drinking water."

"Sadly, many areas lack the ability to test drinking water and make the necessary improvements if they are warranted," said Durbin. "This bill would seek to provide assistance to communities in need by increasing federal funding for water infrastructure improvements and quality water monitoring in America's towns."

The other cosponsors of the CLEARR Drinking Water Act include Sen. Edward J. Markey, Sen. Ben Cardin, Sen. Tammy Baldwin, Sen. Bernie Sanders, Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse, Sen. Jeff Merkley, Sen. Chris Van Hollen, Sen. Kamala Harris, Sen. Tina Smith, and Sen. Ron Wyden.

Click here to view the full text of the legislation.

Copyright 2018 KFVS. All rights reserved.