State of Disaster declared in Franklin County, IL

Published: May. 2, 2017 at 4:19 PM CDT|Updated: May. 3, 2017 at 1:21 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FRANKLIN COUNTY, IL (KFVS) - Franklin County opened a disaster resource center for all flood victims in the area.

The American Red Cross provided the kits and supplies, which include all types of cleaning materials, masks, brooms, mops and more.

The Franklin-Williamson Bi County Heath Department and Southern Baptist IL Disaster Relief were also on site offering free services for flood victims. This is located at 201 E. Nolen Street, near the fire department.

State of Disaster declared in Franklin County

Franklin County Board Chairman Randall Crocker declared a State of Disaster on Tuesday, May 2.

Right now West Frankfort, Illinois has an old sewer plant and a new one under construction. The old plant took a hit from last weekend's rain.

City leaders are trying to figure out if they will use the expected flood relief money to fix the old plant or finish the new one.

According to Crocker, after evaluating the flood damage in the different areas of the counties, the financial damage exceeds Franklin County resources.

Franklin County will need assistance in relief due to the rain over the weekend.

"It doesn't balance on the precipice of we need the state and federal resources immediately to handle the emergency, so it balances on the fact that we have enough damage that occurred locally for a declared disaster," said Franklin County EMA Director Ryan Buckingham.

Chairman Crocker said the biggest concern right now is the West Frankfort sewer plant. The new plant that would mitigate the flooding problems is currently under construction.

He said the county had to use the old sewer plant for these last storms.

West Frankfort Mayor Tom Jordan reminded residents that moving forward is a process.

"This is the beginning of a process. That process may go through and we may get the relief or it may not, so it is no guarantee the relief will come," Jordan said. "But I do think it's a good decision by the County Chairman Randall Crocker and Ryan Buckingham of EMA."

Walk-in clinics offered

The Franklin-Williamson Bi-County Health Department is offering walk-in clinics for the Tetanus vaccine at their locations in Marion and Benton.

  • Marion (8160 Express Drive)
    • Monday, Wednesday, Friday from 8-11 a.m. and 1-3 p.m.
  • Benton (403 East Park Street)
    • Tuesday & Thursday from 8-11 a.m. and 1-3 p.m.

The cost of the Tdap vaccine is $55. The health department accepts Illinois Medicaid for both children and adults, private insurance, cash, check, or credit/debit cards.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2017 KFVS. All rights reserved.