Gov. Nixon requests expansion of federal disaster declaration

Published: Jan. 25, 2016 at 9:46 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MISSOURI (KFVS) - Missouri Governor Jay Nixon requested an expansion of the federal major disaster declaration on Monday, January 25 to include assistance for public agencies and nonprofits.

The expansion would be for the those agencies in 39 Missouri counties and the City of St. Louis for the cost of responding to and recovering from the historic flooding that affected that state from late December to early January.

The storms led to 16 confirmed deaths, destroyed or significantly damaged almost 1,000 homes and led to hundreds of road and bridge closures.

The governor's request for federal public assistance was for the following counties: Barry, Bollinger, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cedar, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Lincoln, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Ozark, Perry, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, St. Charles, St. Clair, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Scott, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Washington, Webster and the City of St. Louis.

Public assistance allows local and state government, as well as eligible nonprofit agencies, to seek assistance and recovery expenses associated with severe weather and flooding. Damage assessment teams identified an estimated $41 million in costs for infrastructure damages and costs of responding to the disaster.

On Jan. 21, President Barack Obama granted Gov. Nixon's request for a major disaster declaration.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2016 KFVS. All rights reserved.