A look at the outcome of the Missouri Primary Election.
Published: Jul. 29, 2022 at 2:48 PM CDT|Updated: Aug. 3, 2022 at 12:19 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MISSOURI (KFVS) - Missouri voters returned to the polls on Tuesday, August 2 for Missouri’s statewide primary.

According to the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office, unofficial results show that statewide voter turnout was 24.29 percent.

You can check the preliminary results here.

Missouri U.S. Senate Race

U.S. Senator Roy Blunt announced in March he would not seek re-election after two terms. His announcement created a crowded field to succeed him.

The Republican ballot included 21 candidates. The top candidates include Missouri Attorney General Eric Schmitt, former Missouri Governor Eric Greitens, Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler, and Congressman Billy Long.

Schmitt won the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate in Missouri primary election..

The Democratic ballot included 11 candidates. The frontrunners included former veteran Lucas Kunce and Anheuser-Busch heiress Trudy Busch Valentine.

Busch Valentine won the Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate in Missouri primary election.

Paul Venable is the Constitution Party candidate. Jonathan Dine is the Libertarian Party candidate.

Missouri House Dist. No. 8

Congressman Jason Smith won the Republican nomination.

Randi McCallian is the Democratic candidate and Jim Higgins is the Libertarian Party candidate.

Missouri Auditor Race:

Missouri Treasurer Scott Fitzpatrick received the Republican nomination for auditor. He will face Democrat Alan Green Democrat.

Local races

Three candidates were vying for the Republican seat for the Missouri State Representative District 147 in the primary. They included John Voss, Elaine Edgar and Nathan Thomas. Voss won the Republican nomination. He will face Democrat Andy Leighton and Libertarian Greg Tlapek. In a released statement Wednesday morning, Thomas congratulated Voss and said “I look forward to supporting our elected representative at the state level through my continued work on Cape Girardeau’s City Council as the legislative lead, as I know there is much to be done.”

In Stoddard County, Sawyer Smith beat incumbent Russ Oliver for prosecuting attorney.

Donald Cobb defeated incumbent Amanda L. Oesch by two votes in the race for Scott County Prosecuting Attorney. Cobb received 2,581 votes and Oesch received 2,579. According to the Scott County Clerk’s Office, any request for a vote recount can come only after the results are certified, which will be Friday at noon.

Also in Scott County, residents approved a county one-half percent sales tax.

Voters in Ripley County also approved one-half percent sales tax.

The New Madrid County voters passed a revenue bonds question for the City of Portageville regarding its waterworks and sewage system.

Copyright 2022 KFVS. All rights reserved.