ELECTION RESULTS: Illinois primary

The unofficial results are in for the Illinois General Primary Election held on Tuesday, June 28.
Published: Jun. 8, 2022 at 4:00 PM CDT|Updated: Jun. 29, 2022 at 7:35 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ILLINOIS (KFVS) - Voters headed to the polls in Illinois for the General Primary Election on Tuesday, June 28.

Polls opened at 6 a.m. and closed at 7 p.m.

You can check results here.

Races on the statewide ballot included candidates for governor, attorney general, secretary of state and a U.S. senate seat.

Incumbent Governor JB Pritzker won the Democratic nomination for reelection. He defeated Beverly Miles.

Republicans picked Senator Darren Bailey to face Pritzker in November. Bailey won out against five other candidates: Richard Irvin, Gary Rabine, Paul Schimpf, Max Solmon and Jessie Sullivan.

Two Heartland incumbents will be on the ballot with new districts in November.

Republican State Representative Paul Jacobs, who currently serves the 115th District, won against challenger Aaron Smith, for the new 118th District, which was redrawn due to redistricting.

Current 118th District State Representative Patrick Windhorst beat challenger Ron Ellis for the new 117th District in the primary.

In more local races, voters picked candidates for sheriff, treasurer, clerk, regional superintendent of schools, board member, commissioner and judge.

The 2022 General Election is on November 8.

Copyright 2022 KFVS. All rights reserved.