Gov. Beshear announces new recommendations for ‘red zone’ counties

Updated: Oct. 26, 2020 at 5:27 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FRANKFORT, Ky. (KFVS) - Governor Andy Beshear held a COVID-19 briefing at 3 p.m. on Monday, October 26.

Monday’s briefing included new recommendations for “red zone” counties in Kentucky. As of the updated list on Monday, the following counties in the Heartland are in the “red zone:” Hickman, Fulton, Calloway and McCracken.

Red zone counties are those with 25 or more average daily cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 residents. Red zone counties are updated daily on the incidence rate map on

The governor said when a county turns red, we are already asking schools to go virtual, we ask for sports to pause and we restrict visitation in long-term care facilities.

The “Red Zone” reduction recommendations include:

  • Employers should allow employees to work from home when possible
  • Government offices that do not provide critical services need to operate virtually
  • Reduce in-person shopping; order online or pickup curbside as much as possible
  • Order take-out; avoid dining in restaurants or bars
  • Prioritize businesses that follow and enforce the mask mandate and other guidelines
  • Reschedule, postpone or cancel public events
  • Do not host or attend gatherings of any size
  • Avoid non-essential activities outside your home
  • Reduce overall activity and contacts, and follow existing

Kentucky cases

On Monday, Oct. 26, the Kentucky Department for Public Health reported 953 new cases of COVID-19.

This brings the total number of cases to 97,866, including 1,410 deaths.

The newly reported deaths include a 73-year-old Graves County woman.

KDPH reported a total of 17,881 recoveries with a positivity rate of 5.84 percent.

Currently, a total of 1,937,567 tests for the virus have been conducted in the state.

Copyright 2020 KFVS. All rights reserved.