20 winners return for 40th season of ‘Survivor’

20 winners return for 40th season of ‘Survivor’
20 winners will return for the 40th anniversary of Survivor. (Source: CBS)

(CBS) - Twenty winners of Survivor will return to compete against each other on the 40th season of the Emmy Award-winning series Survivor.

The special two-hour premiere airs on Wednesday, February 12 at 7 p.m. CT.

The 20th anniversary edition is themed Winners at War, and unites the most memorable, heroic and celebrated champions from the past two decades in the biggest battle in the show’s history.

They will face the Edge of Extinction, which gives voted out players a second shot to win, and tackle a brand new layer of the game with the introduction of fire tokens. Fire tokens will serve as currency on the island and add more complexity to the already intense battle. The new twist allows players to use the tokens to buy advantages to help players in the game or get themselves back in the game.

Additionally, the winner of this season will be awarded $2 million, the largest prize in reality show history.

Survivor premiered on May 31, 2000 and ultimately changed the television landscape. Since the first group of castaways were marooned on the beaches of Borneo 20 years ago, the game has evolved and adapted. Almost 600 castaways have played the game and only 38 were crowned with the title of Sole Survivor, with Sandra Diaz-Twine being the only castaway to earn the title on two separate seasons. The winners from the early seasons will need to adjust their strategy to use new elements, such as immunity idols and rewards that didn’t exist when they first played.

The series films in the Mamanuca Islands in Fiji.

The following are the 20 returning winners competing in “Winners at War”:

Adam Klein (28)

  • Winner of “Millennials vs. Gen-X” (2016)
  • Hometown: Burlingame, CA
  • Current Residence: Los Angeles
  • Occupation: Keynote Speaker and Host

Amber Mariano (40)

  • Winner of “All-Stars” (2004)
  • Hometown: Beaver, PA
  • Current Residence: Pensacola, FL
  • Occupation: Director of Marketing and Communications

Ben Driebergen (36)

  • Winner of “Heroes vs. Healers vs. Hustlers” (2017)
  • Hometown: Boise, ID
  • Current Residence: Boise, ID
  • Occupation: Real estate/stay at home dad

Danni Boatwright (43)

  • Winner of “Guatemala” (2005)
  • Hometown: Tonganoxie, KS
  • Current Residence: Shawnee, KS
  • Occupation: Owner of Sideline Chic

Denise Stapley (48)

  • Winner of “Philippines” (2012)
  • Hometown: Marion, Iowa
  • Current Residence: Marion, Iowa
  • Occupation: LMHC, & AASECT Certified Sex Therapist

Ethan Zohn (45)

  • Winner of “Africa” (2001)
  • Hometown: Lexington, MA
  • Current Residence: Hillsborough, NH
  • Occupation: Social Entrepreneur and Keynote Speaker

Jeremy Collins (41)

  • Winner of “Second Chance” (2015)
  • Hometown: Cambridge, MA
  • Current Residence: Foxboro, MA
  • Occupation: Firefighter

Kim Spradlin-Wolfe (36)

  • Winner of “One World” (2012)
  • Hometown: San Antonio, Texas
  • Current Residence: San Antonio, Texas
  • Occupation: Interior Designer

Michele Fitzgerald (29)

  • Winner of “Kaôh Rōng” (2016)
  • Hometown: Freehold, NJ
  • Current Residence: Hoboken, NJ
  • Occupation: Business Development Manager

Natalie Anderson (33)

  • Winner of “San Juan del Sur” (2014)
  • Hometown: Colombo, Sri Lanka
  • Current Residence: Edgewater, NJ
  • Occupation: CrossFit Trainer

Nick Wilson (28)

  • Winner of “David vs. Goliath” (2018)
  • Hometown: Williamsburg, KY
  • Current Residence: Williamsburg, KY
  • Occupation: Attorney

Parvati Shallow (36)

  • Winner of “Fans vs. Favorites” (2008)
  • Hometown: Atlanta
  • Current Residence: Los Angeles
  • Occupation: Yoga teacher, Life Coach, and Speaker

Rob Mariano (43)

  • Winner of “Redemption Island” (2011)
  • Hometown: Boston, MA
  • Current Residence: Pensacola, FL
  • Occupation: Construction

Sandra Diaz-Twine (44)

  • Winner of “Pearl Islands” (2003) & “Heroes vs. Villains” (2010)
  • Hometown: Stamford, CT
  • Current Residence: Riverview. FL
  • Occupation: Case Manager at a Law Firm

Sarah Lacina (34)

  • Winner of “Game Changers” (2017)
  • Hometown: Muscatine, Iowa
  • Current Residence: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Occupation: Police Officer

Sophie Georgina Clarke (29)

  • Winner of “South Pacific” (2011)
  • Hometown: Willsboro, NY
  • Current Residence: Santa Monica, CA
  • Occupation: Healthcare Consultant

Anthony “Tony” Vlachos (45)

  • Winner of “Cagayan” (2014)
  • Hometown: Jersey City, NJ
  • Current Residence: Allendale, NJ
  • Occupation: Police Officer

Tyson Apostol (39)

  • Winner of “Blood vs. Water” (2013)
  • Hometown: Lindon, Utah
  • Current Residence: Mesa, AZ
  • Occupation: Son, husband, father, friend.

Wendell Holland (35)

  • Winner of “Ghost Island” (2018)
  • Hometown: Philadelphia
  • Current Residence: Philadelphia
  • Occupation: Furniture Designer

Yul Kwon (44)

  • Winner of “Cook Islands” (2006)
  • Hometown: Concord, CA
  • Current Residence: Los Altos, CA
  • Occupation: Product Management

Survivor is hosted by Emmy Award-winning host Jeff Probst and produced by S.E.G. Holdco., LLC. Mark Burnett, Jeff Probst and Matt Van Wagenen are executive producers.

Copyright 2020 CBS. All rights reserved.