This 11-year-old runs a mile for each officer killed in the line of duty. Tonight, he ran 2 more

This 11-year-old runs a mile for each officer killed in the line of duty. Tonight, he ran 2 more
Zechariah Cartledge (Source: Running 4 Heroes/Facebook)

HONOLULU, Hawaii (HawaiiNewsNow) - Since Jan. 12, 2019, Florida native Zechariah Cartledge has run 391 miles to honor fallen heroes across the nation ... and he’s only 11 years old.

On Tuesday night, he ran two more miles in honor of the Honolulu Police Department’s two fallen officers: Tiffany Enriquez and Kaulike Kalama.

To show his appreciation for first responders, Zechariah has pledged to run one mile for each police officer killed in the line of duty.

Through his non-profit organization Running 4 Heroes, Zechariah runs with an American flag, which he then presents to the specific first responder’s family.

He ran for Officer Tiffany Enriquez at 7:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. HST) and Officer Kaulike Kalama at 8:30 p.m. ET (3:30 p.m. HST). His parents said he will now send flags to the families of those officers.

Honoring fallen Honolulu Police Department (Official Site) Officer Kaulike Kalama with a 1-mile run carrying the Blue Line Flag.

Posted by Running 4 Heroes on Tuesday, January 21, 2020

“Our hearts continue to mourn for the tragic passing of these two heroes, and our hope is that through the run tonight, the families of these heroes may find some comfort and can begin the process of healing,” the Running 4 Heroes Facebook page said.

Enriquez and Kalama were shot and killed in a violent rampage at Diamond Head on Sunday.

Since then, tributes have been pouring out from all across the nation.

Zecharia’s Facebook page encourages anyone to join in.

“While we may be on the mainland, we are ohana,” his Facebook page said.

Copyright 2020 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.