CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO (KFVS) - It’s a play that will be talked about for years. Even USA Today wrote it was an iconic shot.
Cape Central were trailing Notre Dame by two with 0.4 seconds left on Tuesday, Feb. 26 when Caleb Oswald with the pass to Kinyon Hodges who puts it in to send the game to double overtime.
Cape Central went on to win 45-44. But should a technical foul have been called for the players and fans rushing the floor after the tying basket?
Heartland Sports’ Adam King got the answer from Southeast basketball official assigner Loyd Rice.
“Why wasn’t there a technical? Because the quarter was over it does not matter what happened there wasn’t any rule violated."