Earthquake Shakes Heartland - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Earthquake Shakes Heartland

Earthquake Shakes Heartland
By: Heartland News

According to the Center for Earthquake Research and Information (CERI) a 3.6 quake occurred at just after 7:21 this morning. The epicenter of this earthquake is 3 miles SW of Blandville, Kentucky in Ballard County.

Last night a smaller earthquake measuring 2.7 also occurred. The epicenter of this quake was 9 miles north of Arlington, KY.

Below are the official preliminary reports from CERI:

A minor earthquake occurred at 7:21:42 AM (CDT) on Monday, June 20, 2005 .
The magnitude 3.6 event occurred 4 km (3 miles) SW of 11 Blandville, KY.
The hypocentral depth is 21 km (13 miles).


Magnitude 3.9 - body magnitude (Mb)
Time Monday, June 20, 2005 at 7:21:42 AM (CDT)
Monday, June 20, 2005 at 12:21:42 (UTC)
Distance from 11 Blandville, KY - 4 km (3 miles) SW (231 degrees)
79 Arlington, KY - 14 km (9 miles) N (4 degrees)
70 Barlow, KY - 15 km (9 miles) SSE (164 degrees)
41 Jackson, TN - 146 km (91 miles) N (353 degrees)
Coordinates 36 deg. 55.2 min. N (36.920N), 89 deg. 0.0 min. W ( 89.000W)

-------------------------

A micro earthquake occurred at 9:00:32 PM (CDT) on Sunday, June 19, 2005 .
The magnitude 2.7 event occurred 3 km (2 miles) SW of 11 Blandville, KY.
The hypocentral depth is 16 km (10 miles).

Magnitude 2.7 - duration magnitude (Md)
Time Sunday, June 19, 2005 at 9:00:32 PM (CDT)
Monday, June 20, 2005 at 2:00:32 (UTC)
Distance from 11 Blandville, KY - 3 km (2 miles) SW (222 degrees)
70 Barlow, KY - 15 km (10 miles) SSE (161 degrees)
79 Arlington, KY - 15 km (9 miles) N (8 degrees)
41 Jackson, TN - 146 km (91 miles) N (354 degrees)
Coordinates 36 deg. 55.2 min. N (36.920N), 88 deg. 59.4 min. W ( 88.990W)
Depth 15.6 km (9.7 miles)

Powered by Frankly