What you need to know about Facebook warning about deleting back - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

What you need to know about Facebook warning about deleting backed-up photos

(Source: Nichole Cartmell/KFVS) (Source: Nichole Cartmell/KFVS)
(KFVS) -

Make some room on your phone.

There is a good chance you will soon have to download another Facebook app.

This is especially the case if you ever used Facebook to sync your photos from your phone into a private album online.

Facebook is warning some users that they must download its private photo-sharing app or risk getting all those synced photos deleted.

In a post online, Facebook explains the synced photos were moved to the app Moments.

To access those photos, users must download the app by July 7 or those photos will be deleted.

This warning only comes for those who used the photo syncing feature introduced in 2012.

It automatically copied photos into a private album on Facebook so that it was easier to find and share them with friends.

These photos were stored in an album called Synced or Synced from Phone.

Just this album will go away on July 7th. Don't worry about your other photos, though. Those are fine.

Furthermore, this feature was only available to select users. For example, KFVS reporter Nichole Cartmell could not access the feature because it was not available in this location.

If you're interested in the Moments app, it is available to on iPhone and Android phones to organize and privately share photos from your phone.

CLICK HERE for more information.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2016 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly