Calloway Middle School science team wins big

Calloway Middle School science team wins big

CALLOWAY COUNTY, KY (KFVS) - The Calloway County Middle School Science Teams scored big during the Regional Science Competition held Friday, February 5, in Paducah, Kentucky.

The teams competed against 17 teams from two states in a quick recall formatted competition containing advanced questions in areas of science and mathematics. The competition was sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy.

After a long day, the Calloway #1 Team took home the championship while Calloway #2 Team finished in fifth place.

Calloway #1 Team composed of Sophia Bogard, Andrew Hardt, Marshall Hays, Isaac Anderson and Jay Turner are Kentucky Science Bowl champions. The team went undefeated on their way to the state title. The win now sends the Laker team on to Washington, D.C., where they will compete in the National Science Bowl, competing against teams from around the United States.

This marks the fourth time the Lakers have had the distinction of representing Kentucky at the national tournament.

Calloway #2 Team is composed of Jessica Wicker, James Frazier, Sunny Clark, Jayden Morris and Jayne Bishop. The Laker Science Bowl Teams are coached by Heather Duffy, Dan Thompson, Mitch Hultman and Scott Pile.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2016 KFVS. All rights reserved.