FEMA center opens in Cape Girardeau to help MO flood survivors

FEMA center opens to help MO flood survivors

JEFFERSON CITY, MO (KFVS) - A Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Disaster Recovery Center will be opening Tuesday, Feb. 9 in Cape Girardeau.

The center offers in-person support to individuals and businesses in any of the 33 Missouri counties included in the Jan. 21 Missouri federal disaster declaration.

Recovery specialists from FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and other agencies will be at the center to discuss aid and assist anyone who needs help with an application. The new center is at this location:

  • Salvation Army Girardeau, 701 Good Hope St., Cape Girardeau, MO 63703

The center joins these four others already in operation:

  • St. Louis County center is at Jefferson Barracks Visitor Center, 345 North Road, St. Louis, MO 63125.
  • St. Charles County center is at Immaculate Conception Community Center, 14060 N. State Route 94, West Alton, MO 63386.
  • Franklin County center is at Tri-County Senior Center, 800 W. Union Street, Pacific, MO 63069.
  • Jefferson County center is at Arnold City Hall, 2101 Jeffco Blvd., Arnold, MO 63010.

All centers are open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

Disaster survivors may visit any of the centers for assistance. Locations of recovery centers may be found online at fema.gov/drc.

There are two main types of federal disaster assistance. FEMA provides grants to qualified individuals for rental assistance, home repairs or other serious disaster-related losses. SBA makes low-interest disaster loans to help homeowners and businesses rebuild and recover.

Individuals and businesses are encouraged to register with FEMA before visiting a disaster recovery center. Register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling toll-free 800-621-FEMA (3362), 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual registration assistance is available. Survivors may also register using the fema.gov app for android users or the fema.gov app for Apple users.

Disaster assistance applicants who are hard of hearing or have a speech disability who use TTY should call (800)-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) should call (800)-621-3362.

The federal disaster declaration covers eligible losses caused by flooding and severe storms between Dec. 23 and Jan. 9, in these counties:

  • Barry
  • Barton
  • Camden
  • Cape Girardeau
  • Cole, Crawford
  • Franklin
  • Gasconade
  • Greene
  • Hickory
  • Jasper
  • Jefferson
  • Laclede
  • Lawrence
  • Lincoln
  • Maries
  • McDonald
  • Morgan
  • Newton
  • Osage
  • Phelps
  • Polk
  • Pulaski
  • Scott
  • St. Charles
  • St. Francois
  • St. Louis
  • Ste. Genevieve
  • Stone
  • Taney
  • Texas
  • Webster
  • Wright

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2016 KFVS. All rights reserved.