Carbondale P.D. taking applications for Citizens' Police Academy - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Carbondale P.D. taking applications for Citizens' Police Academy classes

CARBONDALE, IL (KFVS) -

Time is running out to sign up for the Carbondale Police Department's basic and advanced Citizens' Police Academy classes.

According to Carbondale police, the academy will be divided into two components consisting of basic and advanced classes. Each academy will have five sessions: the Basic Academy will focus on an overview of police department divisions, low level patrol tactics and traffic stops, introduction to investigations and crime scenes.

Classes for the Basic Citizens' Police Academy will be held on the following schedule:

  • Wednesday, Feb. 10, 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Feb. 24, 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 9, 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 23, 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 6, 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.

The Advanced Academy will consist of higher level patrol tactics and traffic stops, bomb squad presentation, court perspective and firearms familiarization. These classes will be open to those who've finished the basic class or prior CPA graduates.

Classes for the Advanced Citizens' Police Academy will be held on the following schedule:

  • Thursday, April 14, 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 20, 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, April 28, 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, May 4, 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 7, 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

The CPA is free and anyone over the age of 18 is welcome to apply. Every applicant will undergo a background check.

For more information, contact officer Randy Mathis at (618) 457-3200, ext. 402, or email officer Mathis at rmathis@ci.carbondale.il.us. Applications are available by visiting the "forms" page on the police department's website at http://www.carbondalepolice.com/forms

Copyright 2016 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly