MO Gov. Nixon extends executive orders to help flooding cleanup efforts

MO Gov. Nixon extends executive orders to help flooding cleanup efforts

JEFFERSON CITY, MO (KFVS) - Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon extended the state of emergency declaration he issued on Dec. 27, as well as his executive orders activating the Missouri National Guard on Friday, until Feb. 22, 2016.

Two strong storm systems in late December and early January brought severe weather and historic flooding to much of the state.

The storms led to 16 confirmed deaths and destroyed or significantly damaged nearly 1,000 homes.

"Many Missourians are still cleaning up from the aftermath of severe storms and historic flooding,"Gov. Nixon said.

"Extending these executive orders will ensure these communities have the help they need to remove remaining debris and continue the rebuilding and recovery process."

Since the governor initiated Operation Recovery, state, local and federal agencies in the St. Louis region continue to work together to dispose of debris resulting from the flooding.

Coordinated volunteer efforts are also underway to help individuals remove debris from their homes.

Individuals needing assistance in removing debris from their homes and moving to the curbside should contact United Way 211 by dialing 2-1-1 or 1-800-427-4626 / TTY: 866-385-6525.

On Thursday, President Barack Obama granted Gov. Nixon's request for a federal major disaster declaration for Missouri.

The declaration makes the individual assistance program available to eligible residents in 33 Missouri counties who can now seek federal assistance, such as help with temporary housing and repairs, and to replace household items damaged or lost as a result of flooding.

Those affected by the flooding are encouraged to document losses, including photographing damage and retaining receipts.

Individuals who sustained damage or losses due to the flooding between Dec. 23, 2015 and Jan. 9, 2016 in one of the Missouri counties of Barry, Barton, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cole, Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Lincoln, Maries, McDonald, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Scott, St. Charles, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright may register for disaster aid online at or by calling FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2016 KFVS. All rights reserved.