Graves Co. Middle School choir joins student across nation in si - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Graves Co. Middle School choir joins student across nation in singing National Anthem

(Source: Paul Schaumburg, Graves County Schools) (Source: Paul Schaumburg, Graves County Schools)
GRAVES COUNTY, KY (KFVS) -

The Graves County Middle School Choir, under the direction of teacher Elaine Mitchell, gathered in a circle in the school commons at noon on Friday, Sept. 11 to sing the “Star-Spangled Banner.”

They joined other students nationwide on Patriot Day, Sept. 11, 2015 at 10 a.m. PST, 11 a.m. MST, and 1 p.m. EST.

Students learned about the words and meaning of the flag and sang the first stanza.

It was the second annual simultaneous sing-a-long event created by the APEF-9/12 Generation Project. The project aims to bring students together – as the world came together – on September 12, 2001.

Organizers are hoping to beat the Guinness World Record.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2015 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly