8 additional MO counties to receive disaster assistance - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

8 additional MO counties to receive disaster assistance


Eight more Missouri counties, including two in the Heartland, will receive disaster assistance.

Gov. Jay Nixon made the announcement after the Federal Emergency Management Agency approved his request to expand the federal major disaster declaration for flash flooding and severe storms that was declared on Aug. 7.

Local governments and nonprofit agencies in Camden, Jackson, New Madrid, Nodaway, Oregon, Pemiscot, Phelps and St. Clair counties can seek federal assistance in response and recovery expenses associated with the flooding and severe weather.

“The prolonged weather system that brought multiple rounds of flash flooding and severe storms to Missouri caused significant damage to roads, bridges and other public infrastructure across much of the state,” Gov. Nixon said. “The addition of these eight counties means they will also get critical funding to help rebuild and repair the extensive damage to public infrastructure.”  

The expanded declaration means the Aug. 7 federal disaster declaration for Missouri, which already included the largest number of counties since the Great Flood of 1993, now includes a total of 76 counties.

The original federal public assistance disaster declaration was for the counties of:

  • Adair
  • Andrew
  • Atchison
  • Audrain
  • Barry
  • Bates
  • Benton
  • Buchanan
  • Caldwell
  • Chariton
  • Christian
  • Clark
  • Clay
  • Clinton
  • Cole
  • Crawford
  • Dade
  • Dallas
  • Daviess
  • DeKalb
  • Douglas
  • Gentry
  • Harrison
  • Henry
  • Hickory
  • Holt
  • Jefferson
  • Johnson
  • Knox
  • Laclede
  • Lafayette
  • Lewis
  • Lincoln
  • Linn
  • Livingston
  • McDonald
  • Macon
  • Maries
  • Marion
  • Miller
  • Moniteau
  • Monroe
  • Montgomery
  • Morgan
  • Osage
  • Ozark
  • Perry
  • Pettis
  • Pike
  • Platte
  • Polk
  • Putnam
  • Ralls
  • Ray
  • Ste. Genevieve
  • Saline
  • Schuyler
  • Scotland
  • Shannon
  • Shelby
  • Stone
  • Sullivan
  • Taney
  • Texas
  • Washington
  • Webster
  • Worth
  • Wright

In addition to the federal assistance for damage to public infrastructure, the U.S. Small Business Administration is making low-interest disaster loans available to residents and business owners in 16 Missouri counties that were affected by the federal major disaster declaration issued on Aug. 7 by President Barack Obama for the period of May 15 to July 27.

The SBA disaster declaration, done in response to a request from Gov. Nixon, was for Jefferson, Lincoln and Marion counties, which also makes the low-interest loans available in the contiguous counties of Franklin, Lewis, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Ralls, St. Charles, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Shelby, Warren and Washington.

These SBA disaster loans are issued to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private, non-profit organizations to repair or replace real estate, personal property, machinery and equipment, inventory and business assets that have been damaged or destroyed.

SBA representatives are available at Disaster Loan Outreach Centers in Jefferson, Lincoln and Marion counties to issue loan applications, answer questions and explain the application process through Thursday, Sept. 10 at the following locations:

Jefferson County

Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Mercy Jefferson Hospital
Marketing Conference Room (MOC North)
1400 U.S. 61
Festus, MO 63028

Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Closes Thursday, Sept. 10
Closed Monday, Sept. 7 in observance of Labor Day

Lincoln County

Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Lincoln County Health Department
Community Room
5 Health Department Drive
Troy, MO 63379

Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Closes Thursday, Sept. 10
Closed on Monday, Sept. 7 in observance of Labor Day

Marion County

Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Marion County Courthouse
100 S. Main Street, Suite 102
Palmyra, MO 63461

Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Closes Thursday, Sept. 10
Closed on Monday, Sept. 7 in observance of Labor Day

Applicants may also apply online using the Electronic Loan Application via SBA's secure website by clicking here.

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955, e-mailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov or visiting SBA's website by clicking here. Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 877-8339.

The filing deadline to return applications for property damage is Oct 19, 2015. The deadline to return economic injury applications is May 18, 2016.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2015 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly