Gov. Nixon requests financial assistance from SBA for storm, flo - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Gov. Nixon requests financial assistance from SBA for storm, flooding victims


Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon requested a disaster declaration from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

He made the request as a result of the prolonged flash flooding and severe storms that affected parts of Missouri from May 15 to July 27.

The declaration would clear the way for financial assistance to residents and businesses in Jefferson, Lincoln and Marion Counties. It also includes contiguous counties of Franklin, Lewis, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Ralls, St. Charles. St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Shelby, Warren and Washington.

SBA disaster loans are issued to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private, non-profit organizations to repair or replace real estate, personal property, machinery and equipment, inventory and business assets that have been damaged or destroyed.

On Aug. 7, President Barack Obama approved Gov. Nixon’s major disaster declaration request in response to the recurring severe weather systems that affected the state beginning in mid-May.

Local governments and non-profit agencies in 68 counties included in the declaration can seek federal assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the flooding and severe weather.

The counties included in the federal public assistance disaster declaration are: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Barry, Bates, Benton, Buchanan, Caldwell, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Daviess, DeKalb, Douglas, Gentry, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, McDonald, Macon, Maries, Marion, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Pettis, Pike, Platte, Polk, Putnam, Ralls, Ray, Ste. Genevieve, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shannon, Shelby, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Washington, Webster, Worth and Wright. 

Gov. Nixon first declared a state of emergency in Missouri on June 18.

The governor’s order activated the State Emergency Operations Center and enabled the state to mobilize its resources, including the State Emergency Management Agency to assist local authorities.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2015 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly