MO receives major disaster declaration after storms, flash flood - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

MO receives major disaster declaration after storms, flash flooding


Gov. Jay Nixon announced on Friday, July 7 that President Barack Obama approved his request for a major disaster declaration after prolonged flash flooding and severe storms from May 15 to July 27.

Sixty-eight counties were included in the declaration, the most for an disaster in Missouri since the Great Flood of 1993.

Out of those, two are in the Heartland: Ste. Genevieve and Perry Counties.

"The prolonged severe weather system that repeatedly hit Missouri with flooding and severe storms caused an estimated $38 million in damage to roads, bridges and other public infrastructure and resulted in at least 10 deaths," Gov. Nixon said. "This declaration will help bring much needed financial assistance to the many communities that have sustained excessive response costs and heavy damage to essential public infrastructure."

Other counties included in the federal public assistance disaster declaration are:

  • Adair
  • Andrew
  • Atchison
  • Barry
  • Bates
  • Benton
  • Buchanan
  • Caldwell
  • Chariton
  • Christian
  • Clark
  • Clay
  • Clinton
  • Cole
  • Crawford
  • Dade
  • Dallas
  • Daviess
  • DeKalb
  • Douglas
  • Gentry
  • Harrison
  • Henry
  • Hickory
  • Holt
  • Jefferson
  • Johnson
  • Knox
  • Laclede
  • Lafayette
  • Lewis
  • Lincoln
  • Linn
  • Livingston
  • McDonald
  • Macon
  • Maries
  • Marion
  • Miller
  • Moniteau
  • Monroe
  • Montgomery
  • Morgan
  • Osage
  • Ozark
  • Pettis
  • Pike
  • Platte
  • Polk
  • Putnam
  • Ralls
  • Ray
  • Saline
  • Schuyler
  • Scotland
  • Shannon
  • Shelby
  • Stone
  • Sullivan
  • Taney
  • Texas
  • Washington
  • Webster
  • Worth
  • Wright

Gov. Nixon said he will likely request that additional counties be added to the federal declaration.

The federal government said the governor's request seeking individual assistance for residents in Barry, Clay, Christian, Greene, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Marion, Osage, Ray, Ste. Genevieve, Stone and Webster counties is under review. That request was made on July 21.

Individual assistance means that eligible individuals and households can seek federal assistance for uninsured losses from severe weather and flooding.

Gov. Nixon first declared a state of emergency in Missouri on June 18. He extended it until Aug. 14.

Download the KFVS News app: iPhone | Android

Copyright 2015 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly