Winners announced for 2014 Veterans Service Awards - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Winners announced for 2014 Veterans Service Awards


Missouri Lieutenant Governor Peter Kinder announced on Monday, Nov. 10 the 24 winners of the 2014 Lieutenant Governor's Veterans Service Award, which recognizes Missouri veterans who provide exemplary volunteer service to the communities.

Kinder started the award in 2012, and to date has received nearly 500 nominations from around the state.

The award winners were selected to coincide with Veterans Day on Tuesday, Nov. 11.

Winners will receive an official declaration from the lieutenant governor and will be recognized later this year at a banquet in their honor at the Missouri Capitol in Jefferson City.

The winners and their nominators include:

Eastern Missouri

  • Eddie Anderson of Edina (Missouri Rep. Craig Redman)
  • David Bircher of Wentzville (Missouri Rep. Sue Allen)
  • Theodore "Ted" Blaine of Farmington (Farmington Senior Center)
  • Richard Deason of Poplar Bluff (Missouri Sen. Doug Libla)
  • Joseph Givance of University City (Friendly Temple Missionary Baptist Church in St. Louis)
  • Lance Moore of St. Louis (VA St. Louis Health Care System)
  • James E. Timar, Jr. of Webster Groves (Bethesda Dilworth Senior Housing)
  • Leon White of Ballwin (Mission: St. Louis)

Central Missouri

  • Derald Albertson of Chilhowee (Missouri Veterans Home in Warrensburg)
  • Robert E. Bosma of Boonville (Missouri Sen. Kurt Schaefer)
  • Dan Carson of Mexico (Missouri Veterans Home of Mexico)
  • Nimrod Chapel, Sr. of Jefferson City (Dr. Felix M. Edoho of Jefferson City)
  • Michael Dunbar of Waynesville (Waynesville-St. Robert Chamber of Commerce)
  • Charles G. Foster of Jefferson  City (MO DARE Officers Association of Troy)
  • Lt. Col. Alfred H. Jones of Columbia (June Lenger, R.N., of Ashland)
  • Robert N. Jordan of Linn (Jack Curtit of Jefferson City)

Western Missouri

  • Ronald Bowser of Kansas City (Northcare Hospice of North Kansas City)
  • Eduardo Flores of Springfield (Bill Webb of Springfield)
  • Don Garret of Springfield (Sam Lawson of Springfield)
  • Jeffrey Earl Hogue of Bolivar (AmVets MO Post 184 in Dunnegan)
  • Lucius D. Price, Sr. of Kansas City (Missouri Rep. Bonnaye Mims)
  • Donald Sadler of Springfield (Robert Dock of Springfield)
  • Glenn Scott of Nixa (Nixa Public Schools)
  • John Sorensen of Fair Grove (Russ Emory of Boliva)

Copyright 2014 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly