SBA loans available for some counties

SBA loans available for some counties

(KFVS) - Small, nonfarm businesses in several Heartland counties are eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The loans are to offset economic losses caused by excessive rainfall and flooding from July 15 to August 19, 2013.

Primary Missouri counties: Butler, Camden, Cole, Dunklin, Gasconade, Laclede, Maries, Miller, New Madrid, Osage, Pemiscot, Pulaski, Stoddard, Texas, Vernon, and Webster

Neighboring Missouri counties: Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Boone, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Crawford, Dallas, Dent Douglas, Franklin, Greene, Hickory, Howell, Mississippi, Moniteau, Montgomery, Morgan, Phelps, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, St. Clair, Warren, Wayne, and Wright

Neighboring Arkansas counties: Clay, Craighead, Greene, Mississippi

Neighboring Kansas counties: Bourbon, Crawford, and Linn

Neighboring Kentucky county: Fulton

Neighboring Tennessee counties: Dyer and Lake

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engage in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organization of any size may quality for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million.

Eligibility for the loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster and not on any actual property damage.

The loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 2.875% for private, nonprofit organizations with a maximum of 30 years.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for the SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency about the U.S. Department of Agriculture assistance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA's website at

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955 or emailing Those who are deaf or hard-of-hearing can call 800-877-8339.

The deadline to apply for the loans is May 27, 2014.

Copyright 2013 KFVS. All rights reserved.