Gov. Nixon requests federal disaster declaration - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Gov. Nixon requests federal disaster declaration

Posted: Updated:
(KFVS) -

Gov. Jay Nixon is requesting a federal major disaster declaration for severe storms that struck Missouri from May 29 to June 10. The storms included one that spawned a tornado in the St. Louis area and others that caused widespread flooding.

Gov. Nixon’s disaster declaration request is for public assistance in the following 30 counties: Barton, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Howard, Iron, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Maries, Marion, Miller, Montgomery, Osage, Perry, Pettis, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Shelby, Stoddard, Sullivan, St. Charles, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Texas, Vernon and Webster.

In addition, the Governor is seeking individual assistance for these seven counties within that group: Callaway, Lincoln, Montgomery, Osage, Pike, St. Charles and St. Louis.

Public assistance allows local governments to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the severe weather and flooding. Individual assistance means that eligible individuals and households can seek federal assistance for uninsured losses from severe weather and flooding.

Copyright 2013 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

310 Broadway
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KFVS12. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.