OVC women's basketball honors announced

BRENTWOOD, TN (KFVS) - The Ohio Valley Conference announced the All-OVC Teams and Players of the Year.

Murray State's Erika Sisk was selected as the Freshman of the Year.

Sisk ranks in the league's top 10 in points (13.8 ppg) and steals (1.8 spg). She averaged 14.7 points with 41 assists against conference foes this year. She has recorded six 20-point games this season including scoring a career-high 29 versus Tennessee State. Sisk, a guard, was named Freshman of the Week nine times this season, including a stretch of six straight. She has started all 28 games as a freshman. She is just the second Racer to earn Freshman of the Year honors joining Rebecca Remington in 2001-02.

Murray State's Mariah Robinson made the Second Team.

Southeast Missouri State University's Kara Wright made the All-Newcomer Team.

  • Jasmine Newsome, UT Martin *
  • Ta'Kenya Nixon, Eastern Illinois*
  • Heather Butler, UT Martin*
  • Raven Berry, SIUE% P
  • Diamond Henderson, Tennessee Tech
  • Mariah King, Eastern Illinois%
  • Alex Jones, Eastern Kentucky
  • Mariah Robinson, Murray State
  • Terrice Robinson, Morehead State
  • Kesi Hess, Tennessee State
  • Erika Sisk, Murray State
  • Jordan Coleman, Belmont
  • Kara Wright, Southeast Missouri
  • CoCo Moore, SIUE
  • Tiasha Gray, Austin Peay
  • Lashay Davis, Tennessee Tech

Six appear on the All-Newcomer team due to ties.

  • OVC PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jasmine Newsome, UT Martin
  • OVC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Erika Sisk, Murray State
  • OVC DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jasmine Newsome, UT Martin
  • OVC COACH OF THE YEAR: Lee Buchanan, Eastern Illinois

* - 2011-12 First Team All-OVC

% - 2011-12 Second Team All-OVC

Copyright KFVS 2013. All rights reserved.