OVC men's basketball honors announced

BRENTWOOD, TN (KFVS) - The Ohio Valley Conference announced the All-OVC Teams and Players of the Year.

Murray State's Isaiah Canaan shares Player of the Year honors with Belmont's Ian Clark due to a tie in the vote. Canaan is the 13th player in OVC history to repeat as OVC Player of the Year.

Ed Daniel from Murray State was selected to the All-OVC First Team, joining Canaan.

Tyler Stone from Southeast Missouri State was selected to the All-OVC Second Team.

2012-13 All-OVC Men's Basketball Teams/Awards

  • OVC Co-Players of the Year: Ian Clark, Belmont and Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
  • OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Ian Clark, Belmont
  • OVC Freshman of the Year: Chris Horton, Austin Peay
  • OVC Coach of the Year: Rick Byrd, Belmont

 All-OVC First Team

  • Ian Clark, Belmont
  • Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
  • Mike DiNunno, Eastern Kentucky
  • Kerron Johnson, Belmont
  • Ed Daniel, Murray State
  • Patrick Miller, Tennessee State

All-OVC Second Team

  • Jud Dillard, Tennessee Tech
  • Robert Covington, Tennessee State
  • Kellen Thornton, Tennessee State
  • Tarvin Gaines, Jacksonville State
  • Tyler Stone, Southeast Missouri

OVC All-Newcomer Team

  • Glenn Cosey, Eastern Kentucky
  • Travis Betran, Austin Peay
  • Corey Walden, Eastern Kentucky
  • Jeremiah Samarrippas, Tennessee Tech
  • Sherman Blanford, Eastern Illinois
  • Chris Horton, Austin Peay

There are 6 players on the All-OVC first-team and All-Newcomer team due to ties in voting.

Copyright KFVS 2013. All rights reserved.