41 Ill. counties approved for cost-share assistance in drought - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

41 Ill. counties approved for cost-share assistance in drought

(KFVS) -

Forty-one Illinois counties have been approved by the USDA Farm Service Agency in Illinois to implement the Emergency Conservation Program due to severe drought conditions.

Scherrie V. Giamanco, State Executive Director for USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) in Illinois, says it is not certain if funding will be immediately available, but producers can begin making their cost-share requests.

The ECP program provides cost-share assistance to producers if the damage is so severe that water available for livestock, orchards, and vineyards has been reduced below normal to the extent that they cannot survive without additional water.

The ECP program has been approved for the following 41 Illinois counties: Adams, Alexander, Bond, Brown, Cass, Christian, Clay, Coles, Cumberland, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Greene, Hancock, Hardin, Jasper, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Mason, Massac, McDonough, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Pope, Pulaski, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, St. Clair, Union, Vermilion, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Williamson, and Woodford.

Producers in these counties who need assistance with water conservation and enhancement measures to permit grazing of range, pasture or forage by livestock; supply emergency water for existing irrigation systems serving orchards and vineyards; or provide emergency water for confined livestock operations should contact their local county FSA offices, according to the Illinois FSA.

Henry and Menard counties have requested ECP funding and are pending approval.

For more information about FSA programs contact your local county FSA office or visit the FSA state Web site at www.fsa.usda.gov/il.

Copyright 2012 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly