Small businesses now eligible for federal disaster assistance - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Small businesses now eligible for federal disaster assistance

(KFVS) -

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is making low-interest disaster loans available to small, nonfarm business in all 114 Missouri counties.

Due to the prolonged period of drought and extreme heat in the state, Gov. Nixon says the Economic Injury Disaster Loans will be available in all Missouri counties and in the city of St. Louis.

According to the SBA, small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small business engaged in agriculture, and most private, non-profit organizations of any size may qualify for loans of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses that could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA's secure web sit at

Disaster loans information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling SBA toll-free at 800-659-2955.

The deadline to apply for these loans is March 18, 2013.

Copyright 2012 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly