27 Ill. counties approved for emergency CRP haying, grazing

(KFVS) - The state of Illinois is offering some help to those with livestock hurt by the drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture approved 27 counties for emergency Conservation Reserve Program haying and grazing to provide emergency relief to livestock producers due to the drought.

The counties in Illinois include Bond, Christian, Clay, Clinton, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Gallatin, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Massac, Montgomery, Pope, Richland, Saline, Sangamon, Shelby, Wayne, White, Williamson.

The CRP haying and grazing becomes effective on August 2. The emergency grazing is to be allowed between August 2 and September 30.

Small businesses, agricultural cooperatives and private non-profit organizations in Gallatin, Lawrence, Wabash and White counties hurt by the drought can get federal disaster loans.

Copyright 2012 KFVS. All rights reserved.