Farmers in 101 Mo. counties eligible for assistance after drought

(KFVS) - The U.S. Secretary of Agriculture granted Gov. Jay Nixon's request for a disaster designation for 101 Missouri counties which experienced severe drought during the 2011 growing season.

The designation permits assistance from the USDA's Farm Service Agency to farmers in those counties who have suffered losses to crops and property as a result of excessive heat and severe drought from July 1 to Aug. 30, as well as farmers in 10 contiguous counties and the City of St. Louis.

The counties requested by the Governor and designated by the USDA are Adair, Audrain, Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Boone, Butler, Caldwell, Callaway, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Clay, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Daviess, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Gentry, Greene, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Howell, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, McDonald, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, Mercer, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Pettis, Phelps, Pike, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, St. Louis, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shannon, Shelby, Stoddard, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Worth and Wright.

Primary disaster counties are those that lose at least 30 percent of the estimated yield of a single crop, or where individual farmers suffer production losses of more than 30 percent.

Farmers in the contiguous counties of Andrew, Buchanan, Carroll, Clinton, DeKalb, Iron, New Madrid, Nodaway, Scott and Ste. Genevieve, as well as in the City of St. Louis, are eligible to apply for assistance as well.

A disaster designation allows eligible farmers to be considered for assistance from the USDA's Farm Service Agency. Farmers who qualify would receive FSA emergency loans or assistance from the federal Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.  Each application is considered individually.

Copyright 2011 KFVS. All rights reserved.