Ill. rural, small town fire departments to receive grants - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Ill. rural, small town fire departments to receive grants


Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn announced Friday that 90 state communities will get more than $677,000 in federal grants for fire protection districts and fire departments. The grants will be used for new equipment and training.

"This important program boosts public safety by helping many of Illinois' rural and small town fire departments upgrade their equipment and training," Quinn said. "Homeowners and business owners throughout the state will benefit from this assistance to their local firefighters."

The Volunteer Fire Assistance grant program reimburses 50-percent of the costs for providing training and acquiring equipment for local firefighters.

Volunteer Fire Assistance Program grant awards:

Alexander County

McClure/East Cape Girardeau - $7,982.50

Franklin County

Valier FPD - $7,600

Jackson County

Dowell FD - $1,441

Vergennes FD - $400.95

Massac County

Metropolis FD - $5,765

Union County

Alto Pass FD - $7,331.50

Anna FD - $11,500

Cobden VFC - $14,959.50

Jonesboro FPD $7,500

Williamson County

Crete FD - $1,500

Crete Township - $14,850

Lake Egypt FPD - $7,399

Williamson County - $6,590

Copyright 2011 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly