22 Ky. counties now qualify for unemployment

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - A total of 22 Kentucky counties have now qualified for unemployment assistance due to severe weather that occurred beginning mid-April.

The state Education and Workforce Development Cabinet says Floyd County is the latest county added to the list. The others are Ballard, Boyd, Carlisle, Carroll, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Pike, Webster and Union.

People who have lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to severe weather during the period covered may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits. Farmers and self-employed people are normally not eligible for unemployment benefits but may qualify for the disaster assistance.

The deadline for each county is different, but the first ones are Friday.

For more information, visit http://www.kyem.ky.gov/aprilsevereweather.htm

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.