3 Mo. counties added to federal disaster assistance

Federal disaster assistance is being extended to eligible individuals and households in Carter, Lawrence and Wayne counties as a result of the severe weather that has affected Missouri since April 19.

The federal major disaster declaration mean residents in these counties can seek federal assistance for uninsured looses for expenses like temporary housing, home repair, and replacement of household items.

Since President Barack Obama first granted Gov. Nixon's request for a major disaster declaration on May 9, 25 counties have been designated for individual assistance.  They are Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Howell, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Pemiscot, Pettis, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, St. Francois, St. Louis, Stoddard, Stone, Taney and Wayne.

Since May 9, 38 Missouri counties have been designated for public assistance, allowing the county and local governments there to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding. Those counties are: Barry, Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Christian, Douglas, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Madison, McDonald, Miller, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Pettis, Polk, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, Scott, Shannon, Stone, Stoddard, Taney, Texas, Washington, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Copyright 2011 KFVS. All rights reserved.