Fourteen flood affected southern Ill. counties to get unemployment aid

CHICAGO, IL (KFVS) - Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn announced Thursday that the federal government approved his request for Disaster Unemployment Assistance for the residents of 14 southern Ill. counties affected by spring flooding.

The assistance is available to people who live or work in Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Lawrence, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, White and Williamson counties, who were unable to work because of the disaster.

"This assistance will help families get through this difficult time," said Gov. Quinn. "The historic flooding this spring disrupted the lives of thousands of people across southern Ill., keeping many people from being able to go back to work to support their families. We will continue doing all we can to help those impacted by flooding to rebuild and recover."

Quinn submitted a request for federal disaster assistance for individuals to President Obama on May 24, which was approved on June 7, according to the governor's office. On June 10, the application for the 14 affected counties was approved.

Aid applications will be handled by the Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES), and must be filed by July 16, 2011. IDES office locations are available by calling (888) 367-4382 or visiting

According to the governor's office,  individuals are eligible for up to 26 weeks of DUA benefits as long as their unemployment continues to be a result of the disaster. Eligibility for DUA benefits will be determined on a week-to-week basis.

Copyright 2011 KFVS. All rights reserved.