Mobile Disaster Recovery Centers in several towns

CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO (KFVS) - The Federal Emergency Management Agency has Mobile Disaster Recovery Centers in several Heartland towns.

They are in Cape Girardeau County to help recent severe storms, flooding, and tornado victims with their applications for disaster aid.

The MDRC is at the Shawnee Park Center at 835 S. West End Blvd. in Cape Girardeau until 6 p.m. Monday and Tuesday, June 14 through Saturday, June 18 from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

It will remain open through June 18.

Personnel from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration will be on hand to meet with storm victims to answer any disaster assistance questions and to help complete their SBA disaster loan applications.

The Disaster Recovery Center will be open Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. at Three Rivers Community College in Poplar Bluff.  The DRC will close at 6 p.m. Saturday, June 18.

FEMA DRC Manager Sandy Ramsey says even after the DRC closes, those seeking help can still get it.

"Anyone who experienced damage from storms or flooding from April 19 through June 6 is eligible," she said. "They can come by the center or call and register with FEMA at 1-800-621-FEMA."

The phone numbers is available seven days a week from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Central time.

Residents can also apply online at or by a web enabled mobile device at

Illinois residents can visit the DRC site in Cape Girardeau for information.

Community Relations specialists were on the ground in Saline County Tuesday reaching out to residents with information on available disaster assistance programs.

A disaster recovery center will open in Cairo, Illinois Wednesday, June 15.

The center will be at Emerson Elementary School.  It opens at 9 a.m. and closes at 7 p.m.

It will remain open through Tuesday, June 21.  Then, it will close from June 22 through June 28.  It will reopen Wednesday, June 29 through Tuesday, July 5.  The center will be open on Monday, July 4.

Disaster recovery specialists will be on hand to go over the recovery process.  They can check the status of your disaster assistance application and find out about other disaster program available from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), state and local agencies, and voluntary organizations.

Call 1-800-659-2955, 1-800-877-8339 or online at www.sba/gov/services/disasterassistance for more information and assistance from the SBA.

Counties in southern Illinois that qualify include Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Lawrence, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, White and Williamson.

Copyright 2011 KFVS. All rights reserved.