Ill. Gov. Quinn announces Federal assistance for 21 counties

CHICAGO, IL (KFVS) - On June 10, Illinois Governor Pat Quinn announced that federal assistance was approved for 21 counties in the southern part of his state by President Barack Obama.

The federal declaration clears the way for state and local governments to seek reimbursement for 75% of eligible expenses incurred in during severe weather in the counties this spring.

Counties included are Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Marion, Massac, Perry Pope Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, and Williamson.

The declaration comes after Illinois and Federal Emergency Management Agency representatives met with local government officials to discuss storm-related expenses, in May.

This declaration comes days after federal assistance was secured for individuals and business in 14 southern Illinois counties.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Gregory W. Eaton as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA is grant money which is free. The Illinois State's Treasurer's Office is offering "bridge loans" and the Small Businesses Association are offering loans at low-risk interest rates.

FEMA said that residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance tomorrow by registering online or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

Copyright 2011 KFVS. All rights reserved.