Mo. state grants help with 2008 flooding, land-use planning

By Kathy Sweeney - bio | email

JEFFERSON CITY, MO (KFVS) - Flood damage dating back to 2008 lands two Heartland communities state grant money, while much of southeast Missouri receives funding for long-term planning and recovery.

The Missouri Department of Economic Development announced $3 million in disaster-related funding Tuesday, along with $2 million for land-use planning related to long-term disaster mitigation.

The city of Marble Hill will receive a $70,475 buyout, matching federal funding in the same amount.

The city of Poplar Bluff will receive $342,938 to use in the purchase of three residential properties and one commercial property, all with flood damage.

The Department also awarded land-use money that will benefit three area planning commissions.

Butler County will receive $97,179 on behalf of Ozark Foothills Regional Planning Commission, which serves Butler, Carter, Reynolds, Ripley, and Wayne counties.

Perry County's Southeast Missouri Regional Planning Commission will receive $122,720.  This commission serves Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Iron, Madison, Perry, St. Francois, and Ste. Genevieve counties.

The Bootheel Regional Planning Commission in Stoddard County will receive $110,780.  This commission serves Dunklin, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Scott, and Stoddard counties.

Copyright 2011 KFVS. All rights reserved.