Obama signs disaster declaration for Kentucky

By Heartland News

(KFVS) - President Obama declared Kentucky a major disaster after severe storms, flooding mudslides and tornadoes that began on May 1.

The federal declaration makes federal funding available to residents in Casey, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Metcalfe, Rockcastle, Rowan, and Woodford counties.

The federal assistance can be used as grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

State and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations can also received federal funding in Allen, Hart, Lewis, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, and Rockcastle counties.

Funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for the entire Commonwealth.

FEMA is continuing to survey the damage in the affected areas.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance Wednesday by registering online at http://www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET.

Copyright 2010 KFVS. All Rights Reserved.